Your Reaction

Imagine if I began saturating my facebook newsfeed with the proclamation that tights were sentient, that wearing tights was cruel and anyone wearing tights was contributing in the suffering of tights.  Imagine I set up a group to liberate all tights from human exploitation.  Imagine I compared tights to your dog and said that the tights you wear on a daily basis were a cruel product of exploitation, and the act was as thoughtless as poking your dog’s eyes out.

What if I posted a video exposé of a tights factory with tights supposedly screaming in pain?

What would you think of me?  What would you do?  How would that make you feel?

Imagine I began exclaiming that hair was sentient and you had no right to cut your own hair because it caused terrible suffering to each individual strand, which had emotions and a family who cried whenever you took the scissors their favourite aunt.  Imagine I posted photos of myself holding up banners reading “hairdressers are cruel!”  imagine you went for a haircut and found me outside handing out leaflets asking you to reconsider going in and contributing to the terrible suffering of hairs.

What if I posted a video exposé of a hairdressers with intertwined hairs clinging to one another supposedly screaming for their mothers back?

What would you think of me?  What would you do?  How would that make you feel?

I think you would think I was insane, plain stupid, or simply taking the piss.  I think you would laugh with your friends on social occasion “hey you will never guess what!  I have this friend who thinks tights and hairs are sentient!”  I think you would feel elated because you’d be laughing and that released endorphins.

I think you would watch each one of the videos multiple times and show them to others for even more laughs.

I think you would make funny comments at the bottom of the videos and of my threads on “tights awareness” such as ‘Oh poor tights!! Lol!’ or ‘I think that one’s bleeding!  😥 ‘

I think you would make funny comments at the bottom of the videos and of my threads on “hair awareness” such as ‘Lol that one looked dead anyway!!’ or ‘Talk about No More Tears!!’

Do you think for a second you would get defensive, tell me I’m not superior for not wearing tights or not letting my hair grow?  Do you think you would defend you decision with even a modicum of sincerity?  Do you think you would defend “your right” to wear tights or cut your own hair?  Would you feel the need to?

Yet when I began sharing information about the impact that buying meat and dairy has on the animals involved, when I began telling you that when you buy milk you are buying something that was meant for a baby who is chained to a box somewhere while his mother bellows out in constant torment you or I could only imagine, when I told you that pigs’ tails, teeth, and testicles are cut off without pain relief for you bacon, what did you think of me?  What did you do?  How would did it make you feel?

You thought I was being self righteous, you said I was attacking you and trying to make you feel bad, you unfollowed my posts, deleted me from your friends list, posted pictures about how I go on about it, and posted that you don’t appreciate having this pointed out to you.  You felt attacked, you felt bad.

You ignore the videos as if you haven’t seen them and scroll past the autoplay ones faster than you would a picture of a Goliath birdeater.

Why do you think this is?  What is the difference between the three scenarios?

question-mark

Leave a Reply

